Elections in Mexico

It is election year in Mexico. On July 1, Mexicans will go to the polls to choose a new President, 128 senators to serve a six-year term in the Senate and 500 representatives for the Chamber of Deputies, all of whom serve for three years.

The candidates in the presidential race are Enrique Peña Nieto (PRI or Institutional Revolutionary Party), Josefina Vázquez Mota (PAN or National Action Party, currently in power), Andrés Manuel López Obrador (PRD or Party of the Democratic Revolution) and Gabriel Quadri de la Torre (PANAL or New Alliance Party).

Polls show Enrique Peña Nieto, the PRI candidate for the Presidency, with a lead and if he wins it will mark a comeback for his party after 12 years in opposition. Andrés Manuel Lopez Obrador, the candidate for the leftist PRD and its coalition partners is in second place and appears to have gained ground in recent days.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.